Home   News   Article

Bank holiday double bill for Fenland banger aces

Sport News from the Fenland Citizen, fenlandcitizen.co.uk, @FenlandCit on Twitter
Sport News from the Fenland Citizen, fenlandcitizen.co.uk, @FenlandCit on Twitter

A bank holiday double bill of stock car and banger racing action is in store at the Adrian Flux Arena, King’s Lynn, this weekend, with meetings both on Saturday evening (6pm) and Monday afternoon (1pm) featuring some of the area’s top short oval racing drivers.

Saturday’s affair offers the stock car fan’s dream of the two hardest-hitting formulas in the country, BriSCA Formula One Stock Cars and Two-Litre Saloon Stock Cars, ably backed up by Ministox. Then on Monday, the emphasis is firmly on fun, with action headlined by the ever-popular Big Van Bangers Vandemonium. Completing the bill are Two-Litre (non-Mondeo) Bangers, Junior Bangers and 1300cc Stock Cars.

The mighty V8-powered Formula One Stock Cars will feature an all-star cast including the likes of Staffordshire-based World Champion Craig Finnikin, Yorkshire’s famous Wainman brothers, Frankie and Danny, and Norfolk top-dog Mat Newson.

Jacob Downey, Scott Greenslade, Max Stott and teen sensation Marcus Skeels are Wisbech-based drivers competing in the Two-Litre Saloon Stock Car field.

Wisbech drivers Dave Bonnett and Nicky Young will race in the Bangers on Monday while new English Champion Wayne Cottrill competes in Junior Bangers. There is a large entry of Wisbech-based racers in 1300cc Stock Cars. They include brothers Simon and Scott Sparrow, plus Lee Green, Kevin McClagish, Ady Moden, Ady Wales and Dan Weavers. The contingent had a very successful showing at the track last weekend. Simon Sparrow won the meeting final from Green and Moden, with Weavers in fourth and Wales sixth, in a near clean-sweep. It was Sparrow’s third final win of what is proving to be an excellent 2015 season.

Last weekend’s Banger Racing action at Lynn saw Wisbech teenager James Liquorice scorch to a pair of wins, including the Michael Bailey Memorial Trophy.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More