Budding Fen poets short listed

THE short list has been announced for the first Fenland Poet Laureate competition, organised by Atelier East and Wisbech and Fenland Museum.

Budding poets singled out are: Juniors - James Collingwood-Smith, Jasmine Lemon and Oliver Swain. Young People - Charlotte Allington, Oliver Osborn, Molly Hannah Windsor. Adults - Pearl Burdock, Elaine Ewart, Paul Harrison, Nigel Hilliam, Phyll Hummerstone, Chris Jones, Marion Leeper, Leanne Moden, Nathan Smith and AG Williams.

All the poets have been invited to a special awards evening on Friday (February 24) at Wisbech Museum where they will read their poems to an audience and the winners will be announced.

“We were incredibly lucky to receive a Clore Literary Award for this project. It’s been great to find so many wonderful poets in Fenland and we are very proud that we are able to support them through this event. Fenland is bustling with culture and creative people and we need to let people know that,” said Karen Harvey, director of Atelier East.

Anyone who would like to attend the awards should contact info@atelier-east.co.uk