Fenland gardens open for church funds

Bumper apple crop. news kn.apple grower David Wheatley, 29, and daughter Charlotte Wheatley, 2, of willock fm, wisbech st mary, following a bumper crop.
Bumper apple crop. news kn.apple grower David Wheatley, 29, and daughter Charlotte Wheatley, 2, of willock fm, wisbech st mary, following a bumper crop.

Gardens will be open in March throughout the coming months to raise funds for the town’s St Peter and St Mary’s churches.

The new open gardens season kicks off on Sunday, April 26, when Middle Fen Farm, off the Whittlesey Road, March, will be offering riverside walks and spring blossoms to enjoy.

As the gardens are so varied both in size and style they can give inspiration for visitors’ own gardens as well as plant sales, bric a brac, tombolas and refreshments, including lunches.

A booklet, “March Open Gardens”, giving information on all the gardens and opening dates and times can be found at both churches, the library and other outlets in town.

On Sundays, The Farmhouse, Middle Rd, is open 2-4pm, but please phone first on 01354 652841.

Other dates include, Sunday, April 26. Middle Fen Farm, Whittlesey Rd, 2-4pm; Monday, May 4, 24 Gordon Avenue,1-5pm; Saturday, June 27. Lincoln Villa. Wisbech Rd. 2-5pm; Saturday, July 4. Lincoln Villa. Wisbech Rd, 2-5pm; Sunday, July 12, 65 Cavalry Drive, 2-6pm; Sunday, July 19, 5 Milner Close, 2-5pm; Saturday, July 25, 3 Wherry Close, 10am-4pm, please phone 01354 650855 to book for lunch at 12.30pm; Saturday, July 25, 7 Wherry Close , 10am-12 noon and 2pm-4pm.

Sunday, July 26, 3 Wherry Close. 2-4pm; Sunday, July 26, Beaver Lodge. 45 Henson Rd, 12—4.30pm; Saturday, August 8. 88 Nene Parade, 10am-4pm; Sunday, August 9, 88 Nene Parade, 10-4pm; Monday, August 31. 24 Gordon Ave, 1pm-5pm; Sunday, September 6, Beaver Lodge, 45 Henson Rd, 12 noon-4.30pm. Booklets containing full details of these gardens are availableat both churches, garden owners and also other outlets in March including the Library, Johnsons, Paninis and the Oliver Cromwell.