Changes promised by Fenland District Council leader

Political News from the Fenland Citizen,, @FenlandCit on Twitter
Political News from the Fenland Citizen,, @FenlandCit on Twitter

The new chairman of Fenland District Council has unveiled his new cabinet following a major shake-up to bring about a change in the authority.

John Clark has vowed a new “open and transparent” way of running the council after beating Chris Seaton in the recent leadership race.

His new cabinet features “old and new faces” as he tries to bring about a change to the council.

In a letter to councillors Mr Clark, who held his first full council meeting on Thursday last week, said: “I am well aware of the challenges that local authorities face during these uncertain economic times, and I am looking forward to working with all of you to ensure that this council continues to perform to the best of its abilities and actively pursue any future opportunities during these difficult periods.

“I am committed to ensuring that the council’s actions are open and transparent, and that all members are kept fully informed of all relevant information and decisions through a variety of communication channels.”

He also thanked members of the previous cabinet for their work.

The new cabinet includes Ralph Butcher as portfolio holder for Localism and Transport.

Mike Cornwell will be taking over Communities while Peter Murphy will receive the Environment role.

The community safety portfolio holder is now David Oliver, with Chris Seaton taking on finance. Will Sutton has been given neighbourhood planning responsibilities.

Michelle Tanfield will be taking on the Leisure and Children portfolio and Fred Yeulett looks after growth and young people.

Mr Clark added in the letter: “There are both ‘old’ and new faces, and some changes to the previous cabinet responsibilities, but I hope that, like me, you will support them in any way you can to ensure that they help the council to perform at its best.”

The council also has a new chairman after Ken Mayor was elected. His deputy is Carol Cox.

Samantha Clark was elected last week as the new councillor for the Roman Bank ward, which includes Gorfield, Leverington, Newton and Tydd St Giles.

The election was held after the resignation of Phil Hatton, who was the planning committee chairman.