UEA lecturer receives national teaching honour

A chemistry lecturer from the University of East Anglia (UEA) is celebrating after his dynamic and enthusiastic teaching was rewarded with a National Teaching Fellowship.

Dr Simon Lancaster is one of only 55 lecturers and learning support staff across the country to be awarded a teaching fellowship by the Higher Education Academy (HEA) through the annual National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) this year. The NTFS recognises and rewards those working in higher education in England and Northern Ireland for their excellence in teaching.

Up to 55 awards of £10,000 are made annually in recognition of individual teaching and learning excellence. The funds are intended for National Teaching Fellows’ professional development in teaching and learning or aspects of education.

Dr Lancaster is director of the chemistry degree programmes in UEA’s School of Chemistry. The author of more than 60 papers in inorganic chemistry, he now divides his research interests between energy materials and innovative approaches to enhancing student engagement.

He said: “I am honoured and delighted that the innovations introduced in chemistry and embraced by colleagues across campus have now been recognised by this NTF. I am grateful to the HEA but also to our tremendous student cohorts who have partnered me in these endeavours.”

Simon’s teaching is characterised by dynamism, enthusiasm and an entertaining but interactive and challenging style. He is constantly refining his teaching practice to optimise the learning outcomes achieved during the precious student contact time and leads the introduction of these techniques across UEA.

UEA pro-vice-chancellor Prof Nigel Norris said: “A National Teaching Fellowship is a highly competitive and richly deserved honour and reflects Simon’s continued hard work and dedication to teaching here at UEA. We are delighted he has received this recognition.”

Dr Lancaster is also a recipient of the UEA Sir Geoffrey and Lady Allen Prize for Excellence in Teaching and is the 2013 Royal Society of Chemistry Higher Education Award winner.

The NTFS Individual Awards Scheme is funded by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE), the Department for Employment and Learning in Northern Ireland (DELNI), the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW) and managed by the Higher Education Academy (HEA) on behalf of the sector.