ELECTIONS: Standing down

Share this article

Nearly a third of Cambs County councillors are standing down at the elections next month.

A total of 21 of the 69 Members have announced that they will not be seeking re-election on May 2. Between them they have clocked up 230 years of continuous service.

Those not standing include two former Leaders of the Council – Cllr Shona Johnstone and Cllr Jill Tuck – as well as current Chairman Cllr John Powley and former Chairman Cllr Linda Oliver.

Others not seeking re-election include former Labour Group Leader Cllr Tariq Sadiq and former Liberal Democrat Group Leader Cllr Fiona Whelan, together with several former Cabinet Members and Scrutiny Chairs.

Those with the longest periods of unbroken service include Liberal Democrat Cllr Geoffrey Heathcock (20 years), Conservative Cllr Shona Johnstone (20 years), Conservative Cllr John Powley (21 years) and Conservative Jill Tuck (20 years).

County Council Chief Executive Mark Lloyd said: “These Councillors have served the County Council and their communities with energy, dedication and commitment. They have all been instrumental in helping Cambridgeshire become the forward-thinking, vibrant and successful county it is today. They all have my sincere thanks for their many years of service to the Council and their communities.”