Short listed poets

The shortlist for the Fenland Poet Laureate Awards 2013 has been announced, and you are invited to the awards evening.

The judges have been overwhelmed by the response they have received to the competition and, after much deliberation, they have made their selection from almost 100 entries.

“We were so surprised and delighted to read them all and grateful to everyone who has got involved, supported and shared this initiative. It has been hard work, but we’ve all pulled together to make it happen, and it has happened with great results. Congratulations to everyone involved. We can’t wait for the awards evening and to hear the poets bring their words to life,” said Karen Harvey of Atelier East, who founded the competition in 2011.

The top three young people in the Young Fenland Poet Laureate contest are: James Horsburgh, Bonnie Scott
and Kristin Tunnard. The shortlisted ten adults in the Fenland Poet Laureate contest are: Deborah Curtis, Lizzy Doe, Rani Drew, Aaron Garner, Poppy Kleiser, Leanne Modern, Emma Ormond, Andrea Porter, Michelle Stanbridge
and Taymaz Valley.

After receiving a Clore Poetry and Literature Award and international coverage last year, the Fenland Poet Laureate Awards are growing in reputation and bringing positive publicity to Fenland.

“There were so many evocative entries, some melancholy, some humorous, written by people who had really put a lot of thought into creating a Fenland atmosphere,” said Elaine Ewart, who, as the current Fenland Poet Laureate, helped to judge the entries.

All of the shortlisted entrants have been invited to read their poems at the special Awards Evening at Wisbech & Fenland Museum on Friday 1st March, where the winners will be announced and awarded their trophies. Tickets to the event are free and available by emailing