Home   Sport   Article

Wisbech Town FC retain eight players from last season

By Pete Woodhouse

Wisbech Town Football Club manager Gary Setchell has announced that eight players from last season have been retained and agreed to stay for the 2018-19 season in the Evo-Stik Northern Premier League Division One East.

They are: Alex Beck, Dan Bendon, Jon Fairweather, Adam Millson, Sam Murphy, Danny Setchell, Billy Smith and Luke Wilson.

The following players won't be with the Fenmen next season for a variety of reasons: Josh Ford, who has joined Holbeach, Jamie Stevens and Richard Bunting.

Fans forum at Wisbech Town FC to discuss next season Gary Setchell (2447626)
Fans forum at Wisbech Town FC to discuss next season Gary Setchell (2447626)

Kevin Ward has joined Oadby Town as first team coach.

WTFC stated of the departed players: "Thanks to them for their efforts last season and best of luck with whatever they do next.

"Any other players from last season not mentioned above have been offered a deal but have not yet committed.

"As for new players, Sam Vince will be returning as goalkeeper after stints in the Evo-Stick NPL Division One South last season with Cleethorpes Town and Lincoln United.

"We are speaking to a number of potential targets but it is difficult at this moment with the travelling at this level and our budget, but we are working hard to get the right players in. We will have three or four trialists to have a look at throughout pre-season which starts with a trip to March Town United on Saturday 7th July."

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More