Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Sri Lankan Saranga Rajaguru picks up top two March CC Player of the Year cricket awards

More news, no ads


Saranga Rajaguru picked up the top two pieces of silverware at the March club's presentation night on Saturday – winning both the Saturday and Sunday 1st XIs Player of the Year awards.

The Sri Lankan, who flies home this week, topped the club's batting and bowling averages having scored 1,311 runs and taken 71 wickets.

He helped March finish fourth in both the Whitings Cambs/Hunts League and Rutland League and an unprecedented four victories over arch-rivals Wisbech.

Saranga Rajaguru (18219634)
Saranga Rajaguru (18219634)

Rajaguru topped the Rutland League Division 1 bowling, having taken four five wicket hauls with his leg-spin, came second in the batting, second in the Whitings League wicket takers and fourth in their total runs.

Two other first teamers were also presented with awards – Sam Clarke for Young Player of the Year and Ben Chapman with Most Improved Player of the Year, while club coach Harry Vaheesan was named as Clubman of the Year.

MTCC (18219616)
MTCC (18219616)

Full awards were: Saturday 1st XI Player of the the Year (Ian Bradshaw Trophy), Saranga Rajaguru; Sunday 1st XI Player of the Year (Michael Wallis Trophy), Saranga Rajaguru; Saturday 2nd XI Player of the Year (Pat Ringham Trophy), Nigel Wright; Sunday 2nd XI Player of the Year (Les Mills Trophy), Manuj Patel; 3rd XI Player of the Year (Mel Pooley Trophy), James Beresford; 4th XI Player of the Year, Luke Fage; Young Player of the Year (Chris Littler Shield), Sam Clarke; Most Improved Player of the Year (Nick Lowe Award), Ben Chapman and Clubman of the Year (Chris Little Trophy), Harry Vaheesan.

Trophies were presented by Whitings League chairman Keith Coburn and the evening was arranged by club chairman Les Mills.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More