Wisbech Town through to final of Ridgeons League Cup

WISBECH Town are in the final of the Ridgeons League Cup for the first time in 16 years after beating Stowmarket Town 6-2 at Greens Meadow.

Stowmarket had taken a shock 2nd minute lead from a corner and looked dangerous on the counter attack. Callum Reed then threw Wisbech a lifeline with a lovely curling shot in the 27th minute.

The home side retook the lead in the 40th minute from the penalty spot after the referee saw a push as a corner came in, but back came the Fenmen who thought they had equalised just before the break through Ash Stevens, but the Assistant Referee indicated the ball had gone behind for a corner before the goal was scored.

The second half saw Wisbech almost completely dominant and Chris Horton - making his first appearance in the side since February 2009 - was a virtual spectator. Andy Furnell equalised in the 57th minute, knocking the ball in with his knee after Ash Stevens shot was parried to him.

The Fenmen finally went ahead for the first time on 65 minutes from the penalty spot, after Ash Stevens had been fouled. Callum Reed stepped up to smash the penalty past the keeper.

Substitute Darren Jimson was next to score 13 minutes later as Stowmarket keeper Kevin Bugg dropped a regulation catch and Darren pounced to make it 4-2. The home side’s heads dropped after this setback and they were further punished as Reed completed his hat-trick on 81 minutes with a cool finish after Ash Stevens once again saw a shot parried by the keeper.

There was still time for one more goal and it was Reed again, this time picking up Anthony Reeve’s excellent pass on the left wing before cutting in and firing into the far corner to put the game beyond any doubt.

News filtered through shortly after the final whistle that Wroxham had beaten CRC 2-0 in the other semi final and so for the fourth time this season, the Yachtsmen and the Fenmen will meet, this time on neutral ground (probably Diss Town’s Brewers Green Lane).


1. Chris Horton

2. Anthony Reeve

3. Scott Johnson

4. Paul Cousins ©

5. Stacy Cartwright

6. Callum Reed (Man of the Match)

7. Paul Jones

8. Adam Weston

9. Andy Furnell

10. Ash Stevens

11. Matt Lunn


12. Darren Jimson (for Furnell 72)

14. Jon Fairweather

15. Lewis Thompson (for Stevens 88)

16. Simon Flanz