12th win in a row

Share this article

Wisbech Rugby Club youth teams were in action on Sunday, playing Swaffham and West Norfolk at King’s Lynn.

Wisbech’s U11 side made it a magnificent dozen after notching up their 12th win in a row against local rivals West Norfolk.

Against Swaffham, the Wisbech boys struggled to make the game flow at speed. Full back Finlay Wilcox scored after a sustained period of pressure and lock Cameron Finlay rounded off a 10–0 Wisbech win.

The derby against a quality West side was a faster moving game. Finlay put Wisbech 5–0 ahead, but West Norfolk quickly levelled. Centre Jack Wicks carved an impressive run through West’s defence to give Wisbech a 10–5 win.

The Wisbech coaches named the whole squad ‘Players of the Week’.

Wisbech under 9s produced arguably their best rugby of the season to beat a talented Swaffham team 10-0. Captain Harry Holmes led from the front and fly half Fabian Simpson controlled the game expertly throughout. Tries came from Luke Hare and Ben Wilcox, but Nicholas Little and Jack Fowler were also outstanding.

In their second match an experimental side lost out narrowly to West Norfolk 15-10. Tries: Ewan Samways and Harry Holmes. Strong contributions from Joseph Hoyles and Tim Bateman.

Wisbech U8’s ended the year on a high at West Norfolk. In a 10-10 draw against West tries for Wisbech were scored by Oliver Murdoch (2), William Paul (4), Joshua Bell (2), Oliver Mann and Rhys Swann.

The boys showed their brilliant team work against Swaffham for a well deserved 7-2 win. Tries: Oliver Murdoch, Billy Nurse (2), William Paul (3) and Joshua Bell.

Wisbech under 7’s played a series of games against West Norfolk and Swaffham. Some excellent teamwork resulted in numerous tries which lead to an 8-7 win followed by an 8-4 win against West Norfolk. The series also saw an outstanding effort from many of the younger members of the team.

Try scorers: Arthur Wilcox, Ashton Webb, Aaron Goodman, Connor McLaughlin, Michael Glowaki, Oliver Taylor, Thomas Mann, Ty Tooke, Nye Simpson and Charlie Kirby.