Awards night

Share this article

FENLAND Running Club held their annual presentation night at Leverington Sports and Social Club on Saturday night. After an address to members by club chairman Maire Irlam, awards were presented by Greg Tagney to winners.

Club awards went to: Scott Bywater (first male); Lucy Chessor (first female, club champion and most improved runner); Gary Bligh (new member); Jack Trow (round Norfolk relay); Robbie Howlett (Geoff Tye award); Justin Kinsey (5K); Paul Denwood Hayden (practice award); Paul Arnold (marathon); Dean Powley (summer champion); John Chapman and Ann Trett (special awards for marathon run achievements).

A highlight of the night saw Greg present the Rose Tavern-sponsored Jane Tagney Memorial Mile trophies to the lady and male winners Julie Garner and John Chapman – having competed in it himself on the course on the North Brink the previous Thursday.

On Sunday, Jack Trow put in an outstanding performance in the Diss Athletics Club Cromer-crawley 10K to finish 2nd in a field of 211 in a time of 35:07.7.