Betty beaten in two finals

March & District League Finals Day was held on Saturday at Christchurch Bowls Club.

The Ladies singles being won by Shirley Buffham (Manea) 21-18 against Betty Edwards (Upwell Park). The Mens singles was won by Kevin Beavis (March Town) 21-14 who beat Derek Rutter (Christchurch).

The Ladies pairs was close and won by Janet Anderson and Anne Halsey 23-21 against Betty Edwards and Sylvia Watson (Upwell Park) after an extra end. Peter Butcher and Dave Stimpson (March Town) overcame Derek Stacey and Fred Adams (March Cons) 24-16 in the mens pairs but Peter Butcher along with Anne Halsey lost 23-10 to the Christchurch duo of Lynda Chamberlain and Roly Frost in the mixed pairs.

The Triples was won by Ian Gover’s team from Murrow, 21-17 against Doug Turner’s CMB trio and March Town led by Alan Newbold beat Derek Walker’s four from Christchurch 19-10 to win the Fours competition.

In the afternoon Christchurch comfortably defeated Murrow 92-54 in the Knockout Cup, winning on all four rinks.

The afternoon was concluded by the presentation of trophies by the president Barry Stevens.

l Chatteris Town Bowls Club held its Competition Finals Weekend, with Sylvia Armstrong and Cynthia Spooner each in five finals.

Results: Ladies 4 wood singles winner: Cynthia Spooner, runner-up Sylvia Armstrong. Ladies 2 wood singles: Cynthia Spooner, r-up Sylvia Armstrong.

Ladies Pairs: Sylvia Armstrong & Kathleen Hotston, r-up Gill Landin & Cynthia Spooner.

Handicap Singles: Cynthia Spooner, r-up Christine Coveney. Mixed Singles: Barry Hotston, r-up Sylvia Armstrong.

Mixed Pairs: Sylvia Armstrong & Gordon Phillips, r-up Cynthia Spooner & Eric Proud.

Triples Knock-out: Cynthia Smy, Roy Fomes & Roger Pulley, r-up Eric Proud, Phyllis Hayter & David Jackman.

Men’s 4 wood singles: Mike Royce, r-up David Jackman. Men’s 2 wood singles: Barry Hotston, r-up Gordon Hayter.

Men’s Pairs: Roger Pulley & Mike Royce, r-up Gordeon Phillips & Doug Faux.

Winners of the Club Triples League were Gordon & Phyllis Hayter, Doug Faux & Brian Dewing. Runners-up were Mike Royce, Gordon Phillips, Andrew Berry & Ann Hobday.