Clark is just Champion


Fenland Running Club members gathered for their annual awards evening on Saturday, returning to the White Lion in Wisbech.

The Awards were split into three categories to acknowledge Commitment, Improvement and Achievement. For Commitment, for the Club Champion award from the seven nominees it went to Dean Clark, for the New Members award Larissa Follen pipped five other nominees and for the Hayden Practice award, Roger Kay was the recipient from four nominees.

Katie Ward received the Special Marathon Award for her perseverance to compete and complete the London Virgin Marathon in April.

In the Improvement category the Most Improved Runner, Male and Female went to Rod Sinnott and Sharon Bird respectively. Best Summer Time Trial, Male and Female went to Sean Connolly and Sarah Gauvin. Best Winter Time Trial, Male and Female went to Martin Jennings and Ann Trett.

In the Achievement category, the prestigious Round Norfolk Relay award went to Tim Chapman for his outstanding run on Stage 1 last September.

Best performance in the Peterborough Grand Prix 5K Series went to Colin Ferguson and the best Male and Female Marathon performance went to Andrew Plume and Leanne Rickett.

Husband and wife Paul and Denise Griffin took the honours for the Jane Tagney Memorial handicap mile race which is sponsored by the Rose Tavern on North Brink. Best male and female performance in an open road race was Gary Bligh for the Fen 10 in October and Maire Irlam for the Heckington Show 10 mile in July.

Sarah Rippon was among 517 finishers of the Huntingdon 10K Charitable Trust race on Sunday. She ran a new PB time to finish 407th in 1.01.59.