Emphatic victory

Share this article

WISBECH Swimming Club hosted the third round of the Junior Fenland League and posted an emphatic win to go third in the overall league standings.

A fantastic team effort saw Wisbech win the event with 177 points, well ahead of second-placed Grantham on 124. There were double wins for Emily Kelly, Erin Wright, Jess Rayner, Lorimer Thomas, Ollie Harris, Remi Clare and Tom Hewitt.

Also recording wins: Beth Dennis, Carl Purvey, Jacob Rhodes, James Dobler, Megan Kierman and Tom Locke.

Second places: Alice Dennis (2), Beth Dennis, Billy Wilkshire, Emily Kelly, Jacob Rhodes, Jess Rayner (2), Kayley Hawes, Remi Clare, Ryan Carey (2), Tom Locke and Tom Hewitt.

Third: Erin Wright, James Dobler and Kayley Hawes. Fourth: Ryan Carey and Thomas Barlow. Fifth: Billy Wilkshire, Sasha Kitching and Thomas Barlow

Personal best times: Remi Clare and Ryan Carey three each; Jacob Rhodes, Lorimer Thomas and Tom Hewitt had two each; Beth Dennis, Billy Wilkshire, Carl Purvey, Megan Kierman, Ollie Harris, Sasha Kitching, Thomas Barlow and Tom Locke one each.

l March Marlins took part in the Wisbech Premier Foods Gala and with 19 PB times achieved, the club finished fourth overall.

Leading the way with wins were Robert Shepherd, Lydia Gray and Daniela Sarkovica.

2nd places: Graham Shaw, Alfie McIntyre, Rosie Beningfield and Megan Toombs. 3rd: Sam Page-Mitchell, Bridie Baxter, Daniela Sarkovica and Rylee Cole 4x25m team medley, Molly McGowen, Nat Cook, Ciara Mason, Rebecca Page-Mitchell and Jemma Tombs.

Billy Baxter, Ciara Mason, Joseph Freshwater, Molly McGowen, Robert Shepherd, Rosie Beningfield, Alfie McIntyre, Libby Band, Douglas Richardson, Amber Freshwater, Richard Pembury, Siobhan Halliday, Graham Shaw, Jacob Halls and Lucy Curtis all swam in the 16x25m team relay and gained overall 3rd place.

Also taking part: Jake Hoy and Lara Palmer. PBs: Robert Shepherd, Lydia Gray, Daniela Sarkovica, Graham Shaw, Rosie Beningfield, Megan Toombs, Molly McGowen, Nat Cook, Ciara Mason, Joseph Freshwater, Douglas Richardson, Lucy Curtis, Graham Shaw, Billy Baxter (2) and Sam Page-Mitchell.