Hereward relay another success for March club

Share this article

MARCH AC hosted its annual Hereward relay on Sunday, a race from Peterborough Cathedral to Ely approximately 39 miles following the Hereward Way.

A huge 116 teams of four took part as well as 33 Ultra runners who ran the whole course. With strong winds to cope with in the open Fenlands, it made certain parts of the race quite challenging.

The Ultra race was won by Craig Holgate from Ely Runners in a time of 4 hours 22 minutes 54 seconds. First ultra lady was Kate McBurney from Tritalk club with 5 hours 49 minutes and 25 seconds.

The relay race was won by Sleaford Town Dream Team in 3 hours 40 minutes and 30 seconds.

Even though March AC were running the event and marshalling they still managed to enter six teams of their own. Joe Bradshaw running for March “A” team ran an impressive first leg covering 6.4 miles in a time of 38.09 and placing him 10th position in the leg.

First team home for the club was March “A”: Bradshaw, Steve Rooney, Wayne Stimson and Nick Man with a team time of 4 hours 38 minutes 27 seconds, 40th overall. Next was March “B” team – Luke Fenner, Jason Perring, Mick Stacey, and Tim Boyd in 4 hours 45 minutes and 10 seconds, 48th overall.

Other times: March Ladies – Lynn Summerfield, Geraldine Emmins, Debra Wait and Karen Patterson 4 hours 53 minutes and 07 seconds, 56th place overall; March C - Faye Scrivener, Martin King, Fred Amps and Jim Atkin 93rd with 5 hours 29 minutes and 07 seconds; March D - junior Tillie Murphy, Shaun Donkin, Austin Patterson, Alan Dawes 108th position in 5 hours 52 minutes 18 seconds; Nicola Stacey, Pat Brown, Pat Norris and Steve Keogh 112th in 6 hours 8 minutes and 42 seconds.

l In probably the best weather conditions for years for the event, Fenland Running Club fielded nine teams with their Ladies team taking second place in the Ladies Team event.

Also notable in the results was Jack Trow who was 3rd on the first stage which saw just five seconds separating the top three runners. The nine teams finished 12th, 30th, 36th (2nd Ladies), 45th, 57th, 59th, 78th, 85th, and 91st out of the 116, giving a huge sense of achievement.

Stage results - Stage 1, 6.5 miles: 3rd Jack Trow 35.33; 21st Rebecca Cousins 40.48; 28th Paul Weigand 42.38; 48th Sam Goodger 45.56; 49th Katie Ward 46.25; 54th Adam Chown 47.33; 71st Maire Irlam 50.33; 94th Sarah Gauvin 54.11; 98th Lou Busby 55.31.

Stage 2, 10.5 miles: 11th Ady Martin 1.06.33; 33rd Dan Wate 1.14.19; 40th Mel Murdoch 1.16.50; 44th Aaron Parker 1.17.33; 53rd Ian Milburn 1.19.17; 59th Colin Simpson 1.21.03; 68th Mark Shrimpton 1.22.22; 82nd Paul Griffin 1.25.22; 85th Pasquale Ruggiero 1.27.48.

Stage 3, 11.4 miles: 20th Tim Chapman 1.15.12; 28th Paul Arnold 1.16.58; 53rd Trudy Sayell 1.23.39; 57th Chris Roach 1.24.14; 59th Keith White 1.24.52; 69th Brian Goodenough 1.28.21; 71st Simon Edwards 1.29.22; 79th Dean Powley 1.31.06; 100th Jane Greenwood 1.40.09.

Stage 4, 10.4 miles: 13th Robin Parker 1.04.04; 27th Robbie Howlett 1.10.53; 42nd Lisa Jermey 1.15.22; 45th Nicole Coughlin 1.15.42; 49th Andre Pittock 1.16.57; 63rd Ann Trett 1.20.37; 82nd Lucy Chessor 1.25.26; 87th Sue Atter 1.27.09; 107th Nathan Saw 1.34.35.