Ladies scoop road prizes

Sport News from the Fenland Citizen,, @FenlandCit on Twitter
Sport News from the Fenland Citizen,, @FenlandCit on Twitter

Fenland Running Club hosted their 28th annual 10 mile Road Race, The Fen 10, on Sunday sponsored by The Pallet Network, R.T. Motors, Shapers Gym, The Running Centre, Fenland Garage Door Centre, Alishan, Quay Centre Ltd, Nimax Seeds, Kett Autopaints and World Empire Trade.

Of the 221 finishers the wind was no obstacle for the winner Aaron Scott from Notts AC who completed the course in 52.47 and was one of eight runners to break the 60-minute barrier.

Fenland RC had a big turnout as well as 30 marshals, while help from March AC was appreciated for provision of a water station.

Fenland RC results: Gary Bligh 13th 1.03.00; Andrew Plume 24th 1.06.26; Stuart Follen 48th 1.0.58; Paul Wweigand 58th 1.11.27; Ann Trett 59th 1.11.27; Dan Wate 61st 1.12.39; Colin Ferguson 65th 1.12.39; Richard Betts 73rd 1.14.29; Ian Milburn 82nd 1.15.39; Martin Jennings 83rd 1.15.40; Adam Chown 86th 1.15.59; Tony Moore 98th 1.17.15; Paul Griffin 110th 1.19.00; Rod Sinnott 121st 1.20.45; Andrew McShane 141st 1.24.16; Ellen Drew 157th 1.27.46; Stacey Webb 164th 1.29.27; Rebecca Richardson 202nd 1.40.00; Joice Showell 207th 1.44.31; Justin Showell 208th 1.44.32.

First home for the 18 members of March AC was Jevan Robertson who crossed the line in 16th place followed by Simon Oldfield in 17th.

The ladies secured 2nd Lady prize with Debra Wait finishing 44th. She also won the lady vet 45 prize as this race is part of the Cambridgeshire Road Race League. Karen Patterson won 1st Vet 40 and Geraldine Emmins 3rd Lady in the CRRL. The three ladies also won the ladies team prize. Mick Stacey won 1st vet 50 in the CRRL.

Times: Jevan Robertson 1.04.07, Simon Oldfield 1.04.26, Mick Stacey 1.06.32, Lee Carey 1.08.01, Debra Wait 1.09.03, Andrew Larham 1.10.45, Simon Render 1.04.26, Karen Patterson 1.15.32, Geraldine Emmins 1.17.22, Kevin Barnes 1.20.52, Justin Elvidge 1.21.00, Harry Littlemore 1.21.10, Fay Scrivener 1.29.59, Michelle Seward 1.33.33, Lavinia Seward 1.42.22, Pat Brown 1.45.24, Suzanne Orr 1.45.44, Tony Ofero 1.55.00.

Meanwhile, FRC’s Paul Arnold in the Amsterdam Marathon in Holland finished 1,055th out of 11,277 in a time of 3.34.41.