Maddie is crowned junior champion

OUTWELL driver Maddie Williams emerged as the 70cc juniors champion when Wisbech and District Kart Racing Club held their fifth British Championships at Manea.

Alex Ward, in pole position, led the seven finalists in for three laps, but coming into the hairpin bend at the end of the home straight for the fourth time, Williams in kart 44 took her chance to take the lead.

Beth Brooker moved from fifth place on the grid, up to third, and although still some distance behind the front two, she was closing the gap. During the sixth lap, she took second place behind, relegating Alex to third but Williams held onto her lead to claim the title.

There were 72 karts in action on Sunday’s British Championships Day. The home straight was very long, almost as long as the field is wide. This made for some very fast action in the straight, and throughout the day some great battles took place along this section of the track.

Upwell’s Jamie Chapman was fortunate to escape serious injury when his kart was involved in crashes with two other karts during heat two of the 125 2 stroke qualifiers.

In the 250 4 stroke final Ashley Hornigold was an most unlucky loser when he led the race straight off from the grid and when looking sure to win had a rear tyre blow out. The race went to Craig Jackson, with Kevin Jackson in second place.

The 125 4 stroke Juniors final was hotly contested with March’s Harry Hensby the 2010 champion well tipped but Luke Huggins, came from fifth place on the grid to take a midway lead and never looked back. Second place went to Ben Ward and third was Ricky Ivatt.

The 90cc juniors, one of the largest classes on the day, was won by Henry Laws who started in pole position and led all the way. Beth Brooker came from fourth on the grid to finish in second place for a second silver medal on the day and March’s Esme Atkin was third.

The 125 2 stroke seniors was won by Stephen Gardener for the second year with Daniel Brown second and Ben Crane third. The victory saw Stephen retain the British Championship title that he won last year.

Ian Laws, from Walpole Highway, emerged as the 250cc Open class champion in the most exciting final of the day. He started in pole position and led until the sixth lap when Steve Hoppe took a narrow lead but Laws was soon back in front to take the title with Hoppe seond and Damian Lawson third.

The Fenland Challenge winners were: 70cc juniors: 1 Frankie Wright 60pts, 2 Jack Rolfe 54pts, 3 Gemma Gilbert 16pts. 90cc juniors: 1 Henry Laws 58pts, 2 Ky Rolfe 54pts, 3 Marcus Gilbert 50pts. 125.4 juniors: 1 Luke Huggins 56pts, 2 Joshua Smith 52pts, 3 Harry Hensby 50pts. Pit Stop Challenge: Andy Huggins. Ady Nicholls and Jamie Nicholls 3.32 minutes.

The club’s Martin Osborne said: “It was a very successful weekend.”