Popular new Tydd captain’s drive-in

MFCP TSG 2015 capt Neil John
MFCP TSG 2015 capt Neil John

More than 80 players took part in Tydd St Giles Golf Club’s new captain’s drive in competition in a four ball team stableford competition best three score to count.

All players finished their round by 1pm, then followed a handing over the captaincy from 2014 club captain Ian Edrupt to Neil John who will take-up the role for 2015.

Edrupt thanked all for their help over his very successful captain’s year. He had raised over £1,600 for Prostate Cancer UK which was his chosen charity for 2014.

The rest of the afternoon was taken-up by the awarding of prizes for the drive in competition and the presentation of trophies to club competition winners throughout 2014.

Drive in competition team winners: 107 points were Keith Jakins, Kevin Goude, Julian Davey, Paul Elsey; just missing out with 106 Ken Doughty, James Woods, Mark Whittaker, Garry Withers.

Men winners’ results 2014: Spring open winner Dean Wright, Autumn open winner Lyndon Mallett, Winter pairs winners George Pawson & Andrew Stacey, runners-up Ian Edrupt Keith Jakins.

International pair winners Malcolm Stead & Mick Vassall. Scratch club champion for the fourth time Kevin Goude, r-up Andy Betts. Handicap club champion Mick Vassall, r-up Luke Rowell. Directors Salver winner Mark Whittaker, r-up David Pluck. Gold medal winner Derek Hodgson, r-up Terry Pease. Rabbits Cup winner David Abram, r-up Rob Simmonds. Summer Matchplay winner Neil John, r-up Derek Hodgson. Summer pairs winners Andy Rowell & Luke Rowell, r-up Adey Bills & Andy Jackson, summer plate Winner Steve Slim, r-up Dave Worrall, summer pairs plate winners Garry Fitzjohn & Mark Whittaker, r-up Terry Pease & Derek Hodgson.

Ken Doughty presented his player the year trophy to Kevin Goude who has won the scratch club championship for the last four years.