Round Norfolk Relay tests clubs’ stamina

Share this article

Fenland Running Club and March AC took part in the epic Birketts Round Norfolk Relay on Saturday, a continuous 17 Stage 197.5 mile multi-terrain relay race following the county boundary of Norfolk, starting and finishing at Lynnsport.

Fenland RC fielded two teams in the event. Out of a total of 58 competing teams, FRC entered not only the Open category but also entered a team of ladies, one of only three Ladies teams in the whole event. The event demands not just a team of 17 runners but also a dedicated support team to drive and cycle for each team throughout the night so it was a massive effort. Thanks to all members for their support.

The FRC Open Team completed the course in 8th place overall in an impressive time of 23.21.17 and the Ladies team finished 38th place in a time of 26.41.50, well within the race limit time of 28.30.00. Although a massive achievement by all members of the FRC, special mention goes to Lucy Chessor who was the lady Stage Winner of Stage 10, Great Yarmouth to Bungay, a distance of 20.06 miles in a time of 2.27.51. Rebecca Cousins also created the Senior Ladies record for Stage 15 of the event, as this was a new route this year and she completed the 10.59 miles in a time of 1.11.06.

March AC came home in a time of 25 hours 19 minutes only 4 minutes 59 seconds within their predicted time. Pete ran the first leg of 16.61 miles in 2 hours 4 minutes whilst crossing the finish line 25 hours later was Lee Carey who covered 11.7 miles in a time of 1 hour 25 minutes. Debra Wait won her stage by completing the 14.6 miles from Bungay to Scole in a time of 1 hour 43 minutes and set a new ladies record for this leg. Thanks to Stephen Cowell the club time keeper throughout the whole course.

March results overall: Pete West 16.61 miles 2.04.58, Mick Stacey 14.06 miles 1.46.39, Austin Patterson 5.76 miles 53.29, Karen Patterson 11.14 miles 1.27.46, Jason Perring 10.81 miles 1.20.49, Wayne Stimson 7.9 miles 56.54, Fred Amps 9.24 miles 1.10.27, Mark Salmons 7.52 miles 53.47, Harry Littlemore 11.3 miles, 1.35.57, Steve Rooney 20.06 miles 2.48.50, Debra Wait 14.6 miles 1.43.14, Rick Ware 19.67 miles 2.35.14, Joe Bradshaw 13.25 miles 1.29.52, Tim Boyd 7.27 miles 54.14, Geraldine Emmins 10.59 miles 1.25.08, Richard Paul 5.49 miles 47.08, Lee Carey 11.72 miles 1.25.31.