Ringham re-elected March captain

Sport News from the Fenland Citizen, fenlandcitizen.co.uk, @FenlandCit on Twitter
Sport News from the Fenland Citizen, fenlandcitizen.co.uk, @FenlandCit on Twitter
Share this article

Chris Ringham remains March Town Cricket Club First XI captain following the club’s annual meeting on Monday.

Ringham was first elected in 2006. Also Alan Day, club treasurer since November 1977, became the new president, the first-ever to have not been a previous player in the club’s history.

The annual club dinner is to be held on Friday, January 31. Pat Ringham has now played for the club for 50 years.

New appointments denoted by *. President – Alan Day (*). 1st XI captain Saturday – Chris Ringham, Sunday – Ben Pyle (*), vice-captain Sunday – David Hodson (*). 2nd XI captain Saturday – John Wallis, Sunday – Jacob Gray (*), vice-captain Sunday - Stephen Wallis. 3rd XI captain – David Haslegrave (*), vice-captain – Greg Short (*). 4th XI captain – EGM required to elect new captain, vice-captain – Dennis Furnell.

Hon secretary – Stephen Wallis. Hon treasurer – Alan Day. HON fixture secretary – Pat Ringham. Committee members (9): Catherine Henshaw, Terry Hunt, Nick Lowe, Les Mills, Gary Nicholls, Graham Smart, Matthew Vail, Michael Wallis, John West.

The club again fielded sides at Under 11, 13 and 15 for boys and the girls competed in the Cambs and Hunts Women’s League.

Their respective players of the year were as follows, Boys U11: Batsman – Geoff Kirby. Bowler – Daniel Bradshaw. Manager’s award – Megan Tombs. Finished fifth of 6. U13: Batsman – Will Curtis. Bowler – Isaac Saywell. Manager’s – Doug Furlong. Finished 4th of 5. U15: Batsman – Adam Conyard. Bowler – Luke Green. Manager’s – Scott Wicks. Finished 2nd of 5. Girls finished 4th of 6. Emily Hill, Emily King and Chanel Ogden all played for the county U17 side, Fran Plitsch was called up for the U15’s and 17’s.