Seymour smashes ton in final-over win

March Town CC. From left: Nigel Cole (BHF), Rex Mallett (Isle League) Alan Day (MTCC President) & Russell Wright (Isle League).
March Town CC. From left: Nigel Cole (BHF), Rex Mallett (Isle League) Alan Day (MTCC President) & Russell Wright (Isle League).
Share this article

March Town’s Steve Seymour produced a superb knock when his unbeaten 117 saw off second in the table Sawston in a thrilling final over one-wicket win at The Avenue on Saturday.

At 30-5 and chasing the visitors’ 197-6, March looked doomed until the Aussie secured the 20 Tucker League points with 10 runs from the third and fourth balls of the last over - the latter hit out of the ground.

Tommy Howgego (22) and Tyler Phillips (20) contributed, with James Harradine 3-58 the pick during the Sawston innings.

The Sunday Rutland Division 1 side were skittled out for 53 and lost by eight wickets at The Avenue against visitors Uppingham.

Skipper David Hodson (13) was the only batsman to make double figures, with extras (8) joint second top score.

The 2nd XI suffered their first defeat of the season when they were beaten by 46 runs at Great Shelford in CCA Senior League Division 1.

James Fountain was outstanding for his 3-15 from 12 overs and James Beresford took 3-58 as the home side reached 174-8.

John Gilson top-scored with 29 and skipper John Wallis made 26 in the all out total of 128.

The Sunday development side secured their first Fenland Trophy win of the season by beating Chatteris by 14 runs.

Skipper Jacob Gray hit 25, Scott Bamford 22 and No. 11 Sam Mason 22 not out in the 163-9 total. Youngsters Charlie Revell (3-35) and Rob Conyard (2-19) bowled into a strong wind as the home side finished on 149-8.

l A new Zoll AED Plus Defibrillator has been installed in a cabinet in the March Town CC pavilion which can also be accessed by members of March Squash Club, March Hockey Club, March Bowls Club and the boys and girls football teams.

The defibrillator was purchased through a donation from the former Isle of Ely Football League and a grant from the British Heart Foundation.

Chairman Les Mills said: “We are extremely grateful to the generous donations.”