Home   Sport   Article

Tydd St Mary seal promotion with play-off triumph

Tydd St. Mary FC
Tydd St. Mary FC

ChromaSport Peterborough League

Division 3 Play-Off KO

Stamford Lions Res 1 Tydd St Mary 4

Tydd St Mary FC clinched promotion to Division Two with a great performance away to Stamford Lions Reserves.

Due to the new PDFL constitution allowing four teams to be promoted, both of the Division semi-final play-off games were straight knockouts, with both winners achieving promotion and no need for a final.

A goalmouth scramble saw Luke Tordoff lay off for Saints top scorer Tim Lowe to hammer into the roof of the net.

Tydd scored within 47 seconds of the second half restart. Man of the match Jason Powley put a perfect ball in for Max Burrell to slam home.

Lions grabbed a goal back but, on 67 minutes, Andy Cook blasted in a free kick 22 yards out.

Dale Parnell set up Scott Pemberton to lash into the bottom right-hand corner. Tydd could even afford to miss a Parnell penalty.

Manager Carl Wilson was “over the moon” after the game and said: “Wow, what a season with a great bunch of lads. Two cup final wins against higher league opposition, a good run in the Lincs Cup and now promotion.”

n After a successful promotion and cup-winning 2015-16 season, Wisbech Town Football Club’s Danny Hughes will continue in his role as reserve team manager for the 2016-17 season.

WTFC‬ award winners/Player of the Season

Supporters Club ‘Star’ Awards (presented by Mary Gower): Deven Thompson, Tim Buckenham, Jimmy Peachy, Roy Brand, Reece Hughes. 250 Appearances: Paul Cousins. Special Awards: Paul Cousins, Stuart Cobb. Supporters’ 1st Team Player of the Season (presented by Karen Ball): Scott Johnson. Supporters’ Reserves Player (presented by Sarah James): Jack Brand.

Reserves Awards (presented by Danny Hughes & Mel Mattless). Leading scorer: Neil Goodbourn. Players’ Player: Dale Palmer. Danny Hughes’s Manager’s Player: Ryan Charalambous. Special Award, club assistant referee: Reece Hughes. Mel’s Manager’s Player: Luke Whyatt.

1st Team Awards (presented by Paul Brenchley). Players’ Player of the Season & Manager’s Player: Scott Johnson. Leading Goalscorer: 14 goals each - Adam Millson, Billy Smith, Matt Sparrow. Clubman of the Year: Jason Wright.

Thanks to the Supporters Club for organising the event and to everyone who attended.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More