Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Wisbech club honours young swimming stars

More news, no ads



Wisbech Swimming Club honoured some of its stars of 2014 at its annual awards presentation evening.

Head coach Greg Marsters first presented the awards to girls’ team captain Abigail Foley and boys’ captain Ollie Newton. He also presided over the Fen Regis Trophy for the most promising/improved swimmer from the 13/U age group, which went to Carl Purvey, the Darren Lynn trophy for the most promising/improved swimmer from the 12/U group (Megan Kierman) and the Arles Trophy for the swimmer showing most dedication throughout the year (Jacob Rhodes).

Marsters also handed over three points-based awards. The Nott Johnson Trophy is presented to the swimmer scoring the most points across the six rounds of the Junior Fenland League; for 2014 it went to Beth Dennis.

Hannah Brown took the Clare Lancaster Cup as the female swimmer scoring most points for the club in the year’s county championships, while the DS Medals and Trophies Award for the same achievement by a male swimmer went to Alex Gallagher.

Chairman EJ Gibbons rounded the evening off with awards for the most dedicated young volunteer of the year – Alice Dennis – and adult volunteer – Sara Gallagher.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More