Home   News   Article

An office 'oversight' means local MP Steve Barclay is among those to have had his parliamentary credit card suspended

Local MP and Brexit Minister Steve Barclay has blamed an "oversight" for his name appearing on a list of MPs who have their parliamentary credit cards suspended.

MP Steve Barclay. (7016289)
MP Steve Barclay. (7016289)

Mr Barclay was named as one of nine ministers, who were among 377 MPs, who had their credit cards suspended by the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) - which was set up in the wake of the MPS expenses scandal 10 years ago.

IPSA had initially tried to keep the information from being made public "because it could hinder the operation of the expenses system" however a former high court judge reversed the decision on appeal and information was released to the Daily Telegraph.

The credit card data shows MPs are regularly having their credit cards suspended for failing to provide receipts in a timely fashion or for claiming for disallowed items.

In all 337 MPs have been sanctioned since 2015 with Mr Barclay among them.

In a written response he said: “I have on two occasions had my IPSA payment card suspended, for a matter of days, when the reconciliation of that card has been late.

"On 2 June 2015 and 28 September 2017 my payment reconciliation was late; an oversight in a busy office with new staff. The email from IPSA prompted my staff to complete the reconciliation immediately. The amounts in question are as follows: BT bill in 2015 for £88.80; web hosting payment of £9.59 in 2017.

"Referring to IPSA’s list, my name appears at number 228 of the 377 and confirms my two administrative reconciliation errors.

"I do appreciate your contacting me to explain this matter as I feel very strongly about the protection of the public purse from misuse."

Among the top MPs named are Claire Perry, the energy and climate change minister, Amber Rudd, the work and pensions secretary, Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn and his deputy Tom Watson, and Boris Johnson.

Nine MPs have had their card suspended more than 10 times over the past three years while Damian Collins, the chairman of the Commons media committee, and Chloe Smith, a Cabinet Office minister, have each both had their credit cards suspended 14 times.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More