Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Brexit Party is Fenland's overwhelming winner in the European Elections - and they win overall regionally too

More news, no ads


Fenland voters were clearly determined to send a message to the Government over Brexit in Thursday's European Elections by voting overwhelmingly for Nigel Farage's new Brexit Party.

European Election results for East of England sees Brexit Party the big winners.
European Election results for East of England sees Brexit Party the big winners.

The party, which was the big winner in many areas of the country, polled nearly double the number of votes of all the other eight parties standing in Fenland and were the clear winners regionally too taking nearly 38 per cent of the votes overall and winning three of the seven seats.

But the Lib Dems were also celebrating taking two seats, one being won by East Cambs councillor Lucy Nethsingha. It was also a good night for the Green Party winning its first ever seat in the region.

Both the Conservatives and Labour were losers although unlike Labour whose sitting MEP Alex Mayer failed to hold on to her seat, the Consersatives did at least win the last seat available.

The Brexit Party appears to have replaced UKIP in the hearts of this region's electorate, suffering a dismal night both locally and nationally and this area going from having three MEPs in the 2014 Euro vote to none this time around.

Votes cast in Fenland: Change UK, 691, Conservatives, 2,901; English Democrats, 189; Green Party, 1,767; Labour, 1,270; Lib Dems, 2,526; Brexit Party, 11,486 UKIP, 1,260, and Independent (Attila Csordas), 47.

The seven MEPs for this region are: Richard Tice, Brexit Party; Michael Heaver, Brexit Party; June Mummery, Brexit Party; Barbara Gibson, Liberal Democrat; Lucy Nethsingha, Liberal Democrat; Catherine Rowett, Green; Geoffrey Van Orden, Conservative.

The total electorate for the region was 4,407,975; there were 1,603,017 votes cast; there were 9,589 rejected votes; that turnout was 36.37 per cent.

The regional result was: The Change UK The Independent Group: 58,274 votes (3.65%); Conservative and Unionist Party: 163,830 votes (10.25%); English Democrats: 10,217 votes (0.64%); Green Party: 202,460 votes (12.67%); Labour Party: 139,490 votes (8.73%); Liberal Democrats: 361,563 votes (22.62%); The Brexit Party: 604,715 votes (37.83%); UK Independence Party (UKIP): 54,676 votes (3.42%) Independent (Attila Csordas): 3,230 votes (0.20%).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More