Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

General Election 2024: Steve Barclay is hoping to win North East Cambridgeshire for a fourth time for Conservatives

Steve Barclay the serving MP for North East Cambridgeshire is hoping to win votes on July 4 to retain the seat he has held since 2010.

The current Environment Secretary, Mr Barclay has held various roles within government including Health Secretary twice, Brexit Secretary, and Minister for the Cabinet Office.

He said: “If I’m re-elected as your local MP, my top priority will be to continue standing up for the towns and villages across the constituency as I have done since first becoming your MP in 2010.

Steve Barclay is hoping to be re-elected for a fourth time as MP for North East Cambridgeshire.
Steve Barclay is hoping to be re-elected for a fourth time as MP for North East Cambridgeshire.

I want to make sure we continue attracting investment into our local public services, roads, sports, and arts facilities and back our farming and rural economy.

“Having helped secure upgrades at King’s Dyke, Whittlesey, and Guyhirn roundabout, I’ll campaign for the dualling of the A47. With the funding confirmed for the new hospitals at King’s Lynn and Hinchingbrooke in Huntgindon serving both ends of the constituency, we now need to ensure they are open for patients by 2030.

“I’ll fight the Wisbech incinerator and continue to support Whittlesey Town Council in tackling waste at Saxon Pit, and oppose proposals for pylons for the Grimsby to Walpole National Grid scheme.

“I have consistently voted for tougher border controls which Labour and the Lib Dems have opposed, and will do all in my power to stop the boats once and for all including backing the Rwanda scheme. I successfully fought the proposed housing of migrants in Friday Bridge.

“I will also fight Labour anti-car policies including congestion charge proposals which would penalise rural communities like ours.”

Seven candidates are hoping to win this constituency when voters go to the polls on Thursday, July 4.

They are incumbent Steve Barclay, who has represented the area for the Conservatives since May 2010, Clayton Payne Workers Party of Britain, David Patrick Independent, David Chalmers Liberal Democrats, Andrew Crawford Green Party, Christopher Thornhill for Reform UK, and Javeria Hussain for Labour.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More