Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Nominations are in for Cambridgeshire County Council elections and names will be officially announced today

More news, no ads


Candidates vying for your votes next month in the local elections will be announced later this afternoon (Friday).

While the exact details of who is standing have yet to be disclosed reports suggest that this year's vote for new county councillors will see a bumper crop of candidates.

All three of the major parties are expected to fight all nine seats available for our area on Cambridgeshire County Council with the Green party confirming they will be fighting many of them too including in Chatteris, March and Whittlesey.

Ballot box (45996954)
Ballot box (45996954)

It is believed there are at least three or four candidates looking for your votes in most wards, but in some areas there are as many as five, with the Workers Party fielding candidates alongside independents, which will include restaurant owner Andy Maul and former 50 Backpacks leader Simon Crowson (Spike), who are both reportedly standing in Wisbech. It is also understood UKIP may also have at least one candidate.

Nominations for candidates closed yesterday (Thursday) teatime and the nomination papers have to be verified to ensure they meet all the necessary requirements for a person to go forward for election, which means the names will not be announced until late this afternoon.

Alongside the county council elections are a number of by-elections for representatives for town council vacancies including one in Wisbech and one in Tydd St Giles parish.

Voters will also be casting their crosses to elect a new metro mayor for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough with candidates from the three main parties standing.

They are: Nik Johnson, Labour; James Palmer, Conservative, and Aidan Van De Weyer, Lib Dems.

Finally voters will be choosing a new police and crime commissioner for Cambridgeshire after the election was postponed last year because of the pandemic.

There are four candidates to choose from: Nicky Massey, Labour; Susan Morris, Reform UK; Rupert Moss-Eccardt, Lib Dems; and Darryl Preston, Conservative.

To find out who is standing for election on May 6 in your area for Cambridgeshire County Council visit Fenland District Council's website where the full list of those nominated will be announced around 4pm today (Friday).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More