Home   Sport   Article

Hard-working Chatteris swimmer Hallie in four regional finals

Sport News from the Fenland Citizen, fenlandcitizen.co.uk, @FenlandCit on Twitter
Sport News from the Fenland Citizen, fenlandcitizen.co.uk, @FenlandCit on Twitter

The swimmers of the Chatteris Kingfishers club have been very busy in the past few weeks.

Master swimmers Marie Doherty, Mark Thompson and Gary Smith represented the Kingfishers in the European Masters Aquatic Championships in London with Marie competing in 40-44 100m and 200m front crawl (f/c), Mark in 25-29 group 100m f/c and 200m backstroke and Gary in 200m backstroke in 30-34 group.

Hallie White (12) competed in the Regional Championships in Luton where she had qualified for the 50m, 100m and 200m butterfly, 50, 100m and 200m f/c, as well as the 50 and 100m backstroke.

She managed to get into the finals of the 50m f/c (7th), 50m butterfly (6th), 200m butterfly (5th) and 100m butterfly (4th). She finished 10th in both 200m f/c and 200m backstroke, 11th in 100m f/c and 15th in 50m backstroke.

In the county development championships in Whittlesey, 17 swimmers amassed 45 medals from 64 races, with 50 personal best times.

Freddie Allen (10) was the star, competing in nine races, gaining eight PB times, seven gold medals, a silver and a bronze, as well as a club record for the 400m I.M.

Kiara Kovacs (12) and Anastassja Herdien (11) got three golds and a silver each, whilst Tom Hanley (12) got two golds, as did Reece Simpson (10). Reece also took home two silver and a bronze medal, swimming all his races in PB’s and his sister Kiera (12) won gold and silver.

Harry Rayner (11) swam six PBs, taking home gold, three silvers and bronze. Mark Thompson (Master) took two golds, as did Liam Hill (14), also taking home a bronze.

Ben Noble (9) won gold and silver and his sister Molly (12) grabbed a silver and a bronze, as did Riley Astley (12).

Mia Tandon (9) got bronzes, swimming a club record in both! Thea Hanley (9) swam four PB times, winning bronze, whilst Keaton Astley (9) gained two PB’s. Adam Ballantine swam to 4th.

The 3rd round of the Peterborough mini-team gala saw the 8-11 year olds from the CKF compete against Peterborough, St.Neots, First Strokes from Godmanchester and South Lincs. They achieved 20 personal best times, with two first places; Reece Simpson (10) in 50m breaststroke and Mia Tandon (8) in 25m backstroke.

Other results, second places: Harry Rayner (11), Reece Simpson, Keaton Astley (8) x 2, Mia Tandon, Hannah Thomas (8) and the 8/U mixed medley relay team. Third places: Thomas Ashton (9) and Annabel White (9) 50m backstroke, April Doherty in 9/U 50m breaststroke, Rosie Tuffin (10) in 10/U 50m front crawl (f/c), Olivia Clark (11) in 11/U 50m f/c; 11/U mixed medley relay team.

Further PBs were achieved by: Justin Batista (10), Evan Harte and Maddy Boxall (9), Ellie Bissett and Eddie Boxall (8) and finally Thomas Ashton in 9/U 50m breaststroke.

l Some 27 swimmers competed in the 20th Fenland Open Meet in Whittlesey where they managed 63 PB times, with four gold medals, eight silver and 11 bronze.

Results: Thomas Hanley (12): gold in 100m butterfly (PB), 100m backstroke (PB) and 100m breaststroke (PB), as well as silver in 100m f/c and 100m I.M. (PB).

Other gold: Freddie Allen (10) in the 100m I.M. and two silver medals (50m f/c and 50m back, PB) and a bronze medal (50m fly).

Further silver medals were won by: Anastassja Herdien (11) in 50m back (PB), Riley Astley (11) in 100m backstroke (PB), Liam Hill (14) in 100m f/c and Ben Noble (9) in 50m fly.

Bronze: Anastassja Herdien 50m fly (PB), 100m I.M. and 50m f/c; Connie Denman (14) 100m breaststroke, 100m I.M. and 100m fly (PB); Liam Hill 100m backstroke (PB); Thomas Ashton (9) 50m butterfly (PB), Kiara Kovacs (12) 100m I.M. (PB); Riley Astley 100m I.M. (PB).

Swimming PBs in all of their races were: Rosie Tuffin (10), Annabel White (9), Kiera Simpson (12), Adam Ballantine (13), Riley Astley and Justin Batista (10).

One or more PB’s: April Doherty (9), Scarlett Richards (10), Layla White (10), Olivia Clark (11), Molly Noble (12), Megan Denman (11), Kiara Kovacs, Thea Hanley (9), Harry Rayner (11), Reece Simpson (10), Adam Ballantine (13), Evan Harte (9), Megan Morrissey (12) and Oliver Ayers (13).

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More