Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

March Athletic Club Christmas party awards: Michelle Forvague wins Best Female Marathon and Pat Brown, 80, takes Most Outstanding Performance

More news, no ads


March Athletic Club held its annual award ceremony at its Christmas party on December 7, writes Tracey Dickerson.

The awards recognise new talent as well as the achievements of its longer standing runners.

Many of the newest members have come up through the last two ‘couch to 5k’ programmes led by Teilo Pearce, and from parkruns, the free 5k weekly events for all abilities. The club supports those newer runners all the way to marathon distance with their twice weekly sessions of speed work and inclusive club runs.

March AC Michelle Forvague, Best Female Marathon award (24480292)
March AC Michelle Forvague, Best Female Marathon award (24480292)

One such runner is Michelle Forvague, whose route through the couch to 5k programme and parkrun has led her to March AC and her first marathon in just three years of running.

Michelle won the award of Best Female Marathon at this year’s club awards. She didn’t even enter the event herself, but was entered secretly by her husband Andrew. Michelle managed her first marathon in Yorkshire in under five hours.

The award of Most Outstanding Performance of the year went to Pat Brown, who completed London Marathon this year aged 80.

March AC Pat Brown, Outstanding Performance. (24480297)
March AC Pat Brown, Outstanding Performance. (24480297)

He has completed London Marathon 26 times and numerous other marathons in over 30 years and shows no signs of hanging up his running shoes yet.

Full results: Most improved male runner – Jon Long. Most improved female runner – Tina Burbridge Lambert. Male ½ marathon – Luke Brown. Female ½ marathon – Rachel Boxall. Male marathon – Dave Burgess. Female marathon – Michelle Forvage.

Outstanding performance – Pat Brown.

Club person of the year – Dave Burgess and Tim Boyd for their support to club members in the speed work sessions.

5k series, male – Andy Cole; female – Lesley Wright.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More