Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

March and Wisbech will lock Rutland League horns again

March and Wisbech are set to lock horns again this season as part of the 40 teams competing in the Rutland Cricket League.

The duo will both be playing in Division One for the coming campaign while Long Sutton will again be fielding a side in Division Three and a second team in Division Four East, alogside Wisbech 2nds.

Wisbech finished mid-table in Division One last season, with March bottom. Wisbech 2nd also finished in the middle of the pack.

Sam Clarke bowling for March against Wisbech in their Rutland League clash back in September.
Sam Clarke bowling for March against Wisbech in their Rutland League clash back in September.

Sutton finished top of Division Three but, due to the severely shortened campaign because of the coronavirus pandemic, there were no promotions or relegations.

The Sunday competition will feature five divisions with 32 clubs represented from Rutland and the neighbouring counties of Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire.

The divisional set up was agreed at the recent successful virtual annual meeting and the fixtures are currently being finalised as league organisers look ahead to a full season of cricket which is due to start at the end of April.

Division One: Barnack, Burghley, Kings Keys, March, Market Deeping, Peterborough Town, Uffington, Wisbech.

Division Two: Bourne, Huntingdon, Newborough, Oakham, Stamford, Ufford, Uppingham, Werrington, Whittlesey.

Division Three: Castor & Ailsworth, Hampton, Ketton, Long Sutton, Nassington, Oakham 2nds, Spalding, Werrington 2nds.

Division Four East: Castor & Ailsworth 2nds, Long Sutton 2nds, Market Deeping 2nds, Moulton, Newborough 2nds, Peterborough 2nds, Uffington 2nds, Ufford 2nds, Wisbech 2nds.

Division Four West: Benefield, East Carlton, Kimbolton, Laxton, Orton, Sawtry, Upwood, Weldon.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More