Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

New Tydd St Giles Golf Club ladies captain 2020 Christine Young reveals chosen charity will be Active for Pulmonary Fibrosis

More news, no ads


Tydd St Giles Golf Club ladies section

New golf captain for 2020 Christine Young organised her captain’s drive-in competition.

Christine said she decided to become ladies captain of Tydd St Giles Golf Club this year to raise money for her chosen charity, which is APF, Active for Pulmonary Fibrosis, adding: “This charity is very close to me and my family.

Tydd SGGC New Ladies capt (26908192)
Tydd SGGC New Ladies capt (26908192)

"My husband Frank has this disease and his identical twin brother sadly lost his fight against Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis in March 2019.”

Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis (IPF) is a devastating and incurable lung disease. The only hope is a new lung which is very rare. The cause of the disease is unknown, and the condition usually strikes in older age. Treatments are available to slow down its advance and potentially give a few extra months of life.

IPF kills 5,000 people in the UK every year, but doesn’t have a high profile and is poorly understood. Life expectancy is often worse than for lung cancer, with more than half of sufferers dying within three years of diagnosis.

Christine said competitions and fundraising will all go to benefit her chosen charity.

Other results

Seniors January Stableford: Division 1 winner Noel Bratt 38 points, 2nd Mick Vassall 37 points, 3rd ocb Paul Chaplain-Barton 36 points. Division 2 winner Ken Doughty 41 points, 2nd David Abram 39 points, 3rd Malcolm Pack 38 points. Division 3 winner Gary Brown 38 points, 2nd Roger Lancaster 36 points, 3rd ocb David Leedle 35 points. Division 4 winner ocb Salvatore DiBella 37 points, 2nd Barry Hill 37 points, 3rd Derek Martin 35 points,

Men’s December medal: Division 1 winner Lenk Gostic 71-4=67, 2nd Tim Hines 72-4=68, 3rd John Tyler 77-8=69. Division 2 winner Steve Gray ocb 81-14=67, 2nd Stephen Horton 83-16=67, 3rd Tom Ainsley 85-17=68. Division 3 winner Ryan Stanford 92-22=70, 2nd Steve Duffy 92-21=71, 3rd Ian Millett 94-19=75.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More