Home   Sport   Article

Every member bagged at least one medal with tally being 16 gold, 16 silver and 14 bronze

Every member of the Wisbech Inline team came home with at least one medal at Nottingham University in this year’s Indoor Speed Skating British Championships.

Teams from London, South Woodham, Birmingham, East Midlands, Ashbourne joined the 16-strong Wisbech team.

Wisbech’s tally was 16 gold medals, 16 silver and 14 bronze medals. They also brought home seven British champions on an unpredictable floor at a venue they’ve never skated on before.

Leah Barker. (7691447)
Leah Barker. (7691447)

Leah Barker was youngest member on the day to be crowned overall champion of the Mini Girls category with a hat-trick of wins, leading from the start in each race, the only WISS member to win all her races.

Arthur Buckler in the Pupil Boys category finished in second place in the Dobbin Sprint and first in his other two races to be crowned overall British champion.

Jo Tidman held comfortable second places across all three of her races in the Masters Ladies category. David Billington in the Masters Mens category took a tumble in race three and crossed the line in third, finishing as overall British champion after winning his other two races.

Luke Frary (L) David Billington (R). (7691416)
Luke Frary (L) David Billington (R). (7691416)

Taylor Barker took home three consistent third place finishes in the tough Pupil Boys category. His brother Kirby gained three podium places in the Mini Boys category. Flynn McGurk took the third overall fastest time of the day in the Dobbin Sprint and took gold in the Youth Boys category along with two second place finishes. Fellow Youth Boys skater James Eve followed in third. Newcomer Kayleigh Rye skated well in her first British Championships event and finished in third overall for the Youth Girls.

Twins Eve and Lucy McInerney took an incredible win in the Senior Ladies relay ahead of their rivals.

Coach Mike McInerney held the fastest time for the team in the Dobbin sprint 100m flying lap with 8.62 secondsand battled to a 1,500m triumphant win.

WISS British Champions for 2019 are Leah Barker, Arthur Buckler, Flynn McGurk, Eve McInerney, Lucy McInerney, David Billington and Mike McInerney.

Eve McInerney (58) Lucy McInerney.jpg (7691432)
Eve McInerney (58) Lucy McInerney.jpg (7691432)

Three members of the team were presented with certificates for breaking records during 2018. These were Luke Frary for 100mts road race, James Eve in the 15km road race and Arthur Buckler for 100mts and 3,000mts road races and 800mts and 2,000mts track races.

The most eventful race of the day was the Senior Men’s 30-lap relay race, where Mike McInerney and Flynn McGurk battled at the front with Essex rivals Bobby Ball and Dan King. Swapping the lead all race until an unfortunate crash involving Essex, saw Mike only just keep upright on eight wheels and crossed the line first to become relay champions for the second successive year.

The Essex team were disqualified for a fault on track leaving the second WISS team of brothers Warren and James Eve to finish in second place.

Read more

More by this author

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More