Home   Sport   Article

Shropshire & Peak District trips: find out who Fenmen will play in Evostik League season 2019/20

By Pete Woodhouse

Wisbech Town FC face trips to Shropshire and the Peak District for season 2019/20 as they remain in the Evostik League.

A change to the divisional border means the Fenmen will make more trips west instead of north.

Their longest trip is to Market Drayton in Shropshire (150 miles) while Glossop North End are on the other side of the Peak District.

Fans forum at Wisbech Town FC to discuss next seasonGary Setchell (4753685)
Fans forum at Wisbech Town FC to discuss next seasonGary Setchell (4753685)

League line-up, South/East: Belper Town, Carlton Town, Chasetown, Cleethorpes Town, Frickley Ath, Glossop North End, Ilkeston Town, Kidsgrove Ath, Leek Town, Lincoln Utd, Loughborough Dynamo, Market Drayton Town, Newcastle Town, Sheffield, Spalding Utd, Stamford, Stocksbridge PS, Sutton Coldfield Town, Wisbech Town, Worksop Town.

All league allocations are correct at time of print and are subject to change by the FA.

The league stated: "As a board, we have a responsibility to all 40 of our step four member clubs and something had to be done to address the balance to make the competition fair.

"In the season just gone, teams in the East Division had to travel 20,000 more miles to complete their fixtures in comparison to their West Division counterparts.

"The average journey in the East was 127 miles, compared to 84 in the West.

"With the changes, the difference is reduced to around 7,000 miles, with an average of 126 in the South/East division and 110 in the North/West division."

Other divisions – 2019/20 NPL Premier Division: Ashton United, Atherton Collieries, Bamber Bridge, Basford United, Buxton, FC United, Gainsborough Trinity, Grantham Town, Hyde United, Lancaster City, Matlock Town, Mickleover Sports, Morpeth Town, Radcliffe, Scarborough Athletic, South Shields, Stafford Rangers, Stalybridge Celtic, Warrington Town, Whitby Town, Witton Albion.

2019/20 NPL North/West Division: Brighouse Town, City of Liverpool, Clitheroe, Colne, Droylsden, Dunston, Kendal Town, Marine, Marske United, Mossley, Ossett United, Pickering Town, Pontefract Collieries, Prescot Cables, Ramsbottom United, Runcorn Linnets, Tadcaster Albion, Trafford, Widnes, Workington.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More